Sulfur-billed Nuthatch


Sulfur-billed Nuthatch

Sitta oenochlamys

Unknown to most of us, the Philippines has lots of beautiful colorful species of birds but can only be seen in far flung and unusual places around the country. Perhaps you might have crossed paths with this bird in one of your trips to Baguio City but you might have just ignored it as one of those ordinary small dark fast flying bird. Seeing this small bird in a flash from more than 10 meters or so would not present to you its colors and amazing details. It happened to me and I only realized how colorful this bird was when I peered through my lens as it crawled on the barks of a pine tree. I got this high altitude dwelling bird from Sagada, Mountain Province.

© Toto Gamboa

Click to see FULL QUALITY VERSION

Leave a comment